OUTGROWING FRIENDS

Hey there,

I feel like it’s been a while since I just sat down and wrote (typed) about something that has personally affected me and something that I feel some people struggle with coming to terms with.

Outgrowing friends is perfectly normal because it’s normal to outgrow people in general. Sometimes people just change or you change but either way things just become different and aspects of your relationship change. I’ve said before in many of my blog posts that changing is a part of life and you can’t expect someone to stay the same forever.

You will sense when people are changing and relationships are changing, you might try to ignore it but the changing will be inevitable. It’s best if you grow apart rather than ending the friendship on a bad note or over a fight.

If you have a fight it might make things seem easier at first because the only way to accept leaving the relationship is by turning your emotions of sadness into ones of anger and hatred. The only problem with this is that it destroys any positive memories or experiences you ever had with that person. I remember this quote I once heard “Hating someone is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die”. I know right, powerful stuff.

Growing apart from someone is slow and painful; but once it’s done you will wish each other well and move on with your own lives still remembering all the happy times you spent together.

In a relationship you either grow together or grow apart and a lot of the time it’s not intended for the friendship to end but it does. So my best piece of advice for outgrowing people is just to let it happen and have faith that everything happens for a reason. Trying to fix a friendship with a friend that doesn’t want it to be fixed is like trying to swim directly out of a rip at sea, it’s tiering and ultimately pointless.

(Btw if you are even stuck in a rip remember to swim sideways out of the rip then just swim directly back to shore. I provide advice of all sorts on this blog haha).

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed. I put up new blog posts every Friday.

Love Lil xx

Leave a Reply

