BEING YOURSELF!!

Hey there,

People always tell you how important it is to stay true to who you are and to be yourself but what they don’t tell you is how hard it is to actually figure out who you are.


Sometimes I just find myself getting lost in the person I want to be and all the qualities I want to have that I forget who I am. It’s frustrating because this blog is meant to capture my life and who I am but I am still struggling to give this blog a theme and make it fit into a certain category. I am trying to be like all these other beauty gurus and portray that category through this blog yet I have more interests and hobbies than just makeup.

I have always felt like there were two sides to myself ever since I was little. I’ve always had a girly side and a more tomboy side, always either wearing princess dresses or superhero costumes as a kid. Never in my life did I feel like I fit into a category.Overtime I have learnt to accept that I can have both these contradicting qualities and that I will always be different from the people around me but I don’t think there is anything wrong with that.

It’s important to stand out and be yourself.  Just look through the explore page on Instagram and you will see how all girls look the same and are trying to achieve this certain look and personality. Big lips, blonde hair, thick eyebrows, big but, thigh gaps etc. I feel like this image gets burned into our brains and sets this unrealistic standard of how we should look and the kind of person we need to become to accomplish this impossible standard of beauty.

So in a world that is always telling you to go by the rules and fit in, you will discover nothing more important than just being who you are and standing out. It may seem scary but I promise you that you will find like minded people and life long friends through being who you really are. Even though being yourself may be difficult and it will take time to fully understand who you are, it will be one of the most rewarding experiences of your life.

Thank you for reading and what’s your opinion on being yourself? I post new blog posts every Friday and don’t forget to follow my social media (links in contact me page and sidebar).

Lil out xx

6 thoughts on “BEING YOURSELF!!

Leave a Reply

