EXPLORING CAIRNS

Hey guys,

Two weeks ago I went on my schoolies trip to Cairns with three other girls. I loved every second of it, I am considering moving there because I loved it so much. Even though it was only a different state it felt as if it was a different country. It’s amazing to see the difference in culture on the other side of the same country.

During the first two days we explored inner city cairns. One of my favourite places was the swimming lagoon on the esplanade. Due to stingers in the sea we couldn’t actually swim in the ocean (not to mention crocodiles) so the lagoon was a great place to hang out.

img_9090
the swimming lagoon
img_9091
one of the main walks alongside the swimming lagoon
img_9073
the main fleet terminal

There were a bunch of cute little shops and we happened to stumble upon the crystal caves. From there I bought two amethyst crystals, one for me and one for my brother. I also bought my brother these two amethyst book ends.

In the middle of the week we went to Green Island to snorkel the Great Barrier Reef. It was amazing, there was an entirely different world below me, underneath the oceans surface.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next day we went on a tour around the Daintree rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Mossman Gorge. We also went on a river cruise and saw some crocodiles.

FUN FACTS:

1.the Daintree Rainforest is the oldest rainforest in the world at 180 million years old (older than the amazon)

2.it is the only world heritage site that meets another world heritage site (the Great Barrier Reef)

3.Crocodiles can hold their breathe from 3 to 6 hours. They achieve this by lowering their heart rate to 2 beats per minute (the average human heart rate per minute is 40). This ability also allows them to survive extreme blood loss and injury paired with their extremely sufficient blood clotting factor. So basically stay away from crocodiles.

img_9121
The Daintree Rainforest

img_9118

img_9114

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Mossman Gorge

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

img_9116
The Daintree River

Cairns is an amazing place and I highly recommend snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, it’s just one of those things you have to see before you die.

Thankyou for reading and I hope you enjoyed. I put up new blog posts every Friday and don’t forget to follow me on my social medias (links on about me page and side bar).

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?

I hope you all have a Merry Christmas surrounded by your loved ones.

Lil out xx

Leave a Reply

