BULLIED IN THE WORKPLACE

 

G’day mate,

Today I want to talk (or write) about something that I have personally experienced and believe isn’t acknowledged enough.

Disclaimer: I’m not writing about this for a pity party I just want to spread the message that bullying in the workplace is not okay and to encourage others to stand up for themselves.

My first job was working at a hair salon as an assistant. I was only about fourteen at the time and i was quiet shy and introverted. The boss was a family friend and worked in the shop alongside the senior hairdresser and the senior salon assistant.

In the beginning of working there I would clean and wash hair after colours. I didn’t really enjoy the job (I barely cleaned my own room, I didn’t want to clean a hairy salon) but as time went on the senior hairdresser started making me do all the disgusting cleaning jobs, bitching about me to customers and humiliated me in front of clients.

The senior salon assistant wasn’t that horrible to me but she also didn’t do anything to stop what the hairdresser was doing.

I dreaded going to work, it made me feel physically sick. Quitting wasn’t an option because we were friends with the boss but i couldn’t tell the boss because it was very unlikely it would do me any good. So I kept quiet.

Eventually after months of their torment the boss found out how they were treating me and also that the senior hairdresser was giving her customer discounts in order to increase her own clientele. the hairdresser was fired along with the assistant and they were both replaced.

The replacement ended up being another family friend and we got on like a house on fire.

Looking back on it I really regret not standing up for myself but that experience has also made me realise the importance of why I should stand up for myself.

Any form of bullying is not okay. Never go out of your way to make someone else feel bad about themselves so you can feel better.

If you are being bullied, don’t make the mistake i did. I don’t want anyone to regret not standing up for yourself when it’s the right thing to do.

Throw kindness around like confetti but don’t take shit from anyone.

Thank you for reading and I hope none of you ever have to deal with bullying in the workplace.

Please follow or subscribe through email and don’t forget the follow my social medias (links on “contact” page and sidebar)

Lil out xx

4 thoughts on “BULLIED IN THE WORKPLACE

Leave a Reply

