GOOD READS

 

G’day mate,

Growing up I was never a big reader, I’d rather be outside or watching cartoons. Now that I am older I love to read. I am still trying to do it out of habit rather than forcing myself to sit down and pick up a book.

So I thought I’d share some of the recent books I’ve been reading (no spoilers).

1.”We Were Liars” by E. Lockhart

img_0164-2

This book has such a plot twist and is so upsetting but beautiful. Overall the book was amazing, I’ll admit that in the beginning I was a bit critical about the character development because i wasn’t interested in some of the characters but in saying that it was very realistic in exposing its characters flaws. As the book progressed I became more invested in uncovering the mystery of what happened to the main character. The ending is so heartbreaking but also beautiful ending with the simple statement, “I endure”.

2.”Looking For Alaska” by John Green

img_0162-2

This is one of my favourite books of all time. I haven’t read it in a while but it is such a beautiful story. I loved the concept of peoples’ last words, the mischievous pranks and the characters. The book ended with, “Thomas Edison’s last words were: ‘It’s beautiful over there’. I don’t know where there is, but i believe it’s somewhere and I hope it’s beautiful”. I had that quote written on the mirror of my room for the first couple of months after reading this book, it just resinated with me.

3.”Holding Up The Universe” by Jennifer Niven

img_0166-2

I fell in love wit this book. It was a very different take on the usual girl meets boy storyline. I was fully immersed with the characters and felt really invested in the story. I read this book in less than three days. That’s the quickest I have ever read a book. EVER. I love Niven as an author, she has a very unique take on typical storylines and is able to capture her audience with her lovable and relatable characters. Also the book cover is simply but beautiful.

4.”Paper Towns” by John Green

img_0163-2

This book took me a while to get into but once it got me, I was hooked. I love a good mystery character like Margo. The characters are all uniquely funny and enticing. I am a fan of Green and have read a few of his books, this one is definitely up there with my favourite books by him.

5.”All The Bright Places” by Jennifer Niven

img_0165-2

HEARTBREAKING ALERT!

This book slaughtered my soul. The characters are amazing, by far some of my favourite characters in any book. The ending is just tragic but beautiful. It deals with a lot of important topics like suicide, depression, anxiety and grief after tragedy. All round an amazing read. 100% recommend you read this book immediately but be warned, it will make you cry just as much as it makes you smile.

Thank you for reading and I hope I have added some books to your reading list.

 What is one of your favourite books?

Don’t forget to follow or subscribe through email. The links to my social medias are on my “contact” page and the side bar. Hope you have a fantastic day.

Lil out xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “GOOD READS

  1. Haha, love the very Aussie greeting 🎉
    And definitely going to check out some of these recommendations. I have been in a reading slump for a few months now. Ready to get out of it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

