“LOVE THE SKIN YOU’RE IN” TAG

G’day mate,

I’m not sure if this is already a tag, I searched to see if it was but nothing came up so I thought I’d create my own tag. 

In my “Currently I Am Tag” blog post I mentioned that I wanted to do more posts about body positivity and encouraging people to be more self loving. So I created this tag and I hope that people do it to spread more love about accepting your body.

I thought the title “love the skin you’re in” got the message across perfectly, so without further ado let’s get into this tag.

TAG RULES:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog in your post
  •  Display the “love the skin you’re in” image.
  • Be truthful when answering the questions and don’t judge what other people have answered in their posts.
  • If you want to add any questions to this tag related to body positivity feel free to.
  • Try to nominate as many people as you can, if not everyone.

QUESTIONS:

1.One feature you love about yourself?

My eyes, they are a hazel kind of colour. They actually change a fair bit, in the mornings they tend to be more green and by the end of the day they are a darker brown.

2.One feature you wish/wished you could change that you are trying to accept or have accepted?

I used to have really bad insecurities about my nose. I had insecurities about other things but by far the most prominent one was my nose. I used to make sure that no one would see the side profile of my nose, I only took selfies of half my face so my nose wasn’t noticeable and I was constantly thinking about how my nose looked to others.

I also had insecurities about my acne, thighs, hips, face shape and my stomach which, including the insecurities I used to have about my nose, I have overcome.

3.Have you ever thought of getting surgery to change you imperfections?

Yes, I definitely thought about getting a nose job in high school. I think its normal for a lot of teenagers to want to change the way they look by going through some kind of surgery. The thing that changed my mind (other than deciding not to give a shit) was that my nose was a very dominant feature in my  family. It’s the nose my mum has and my Grandad had. It’s apart of my family and I won’t abandon it.

4.One of your main role models for body positivity?

I wouldn’t say I have one particular role model for body positivity but I would say that two people who really opened my eyes and made me realise that everyone is as self conscious as I am is Marzia Bisognin and Zoe Sugg. Both of them are fairly skinny and have a petite figure and growing up I wanted their figure. Hearing them both talk about their own insecurities really opened up my eyes because in my mind they had the perfect body. To hear them say they were uncomfortable in their own bodies when they were my age made me realise that even if I naturally had that petite figure I would want a different curvier figure. People will never be happy in their own bodies when they are still comparing themselves to others. Marzia and Zoe helped me realise that.

5.Has a family member or friend ever put you down about your physical appearance? If so what for?

Not a family member but an old “friend” of mine use to make fun of my nose all the time which stemmed from her own insecurities. As I got older and accepted my nose, she realised it didn’t bother me anymore so she started making fun of my acne. She would say snarky little comments and one day in front of the entire friend group we got in an argument and she said to me “at least I have clear skin”. This was in year 11! 2015! This girl was 17! but apparently had the maturity levels of a 7 year old. When people are that mean and say things with the intention of hurting you, you have to just cut them out of your life because they don’t deserve to be apart of it.

6.Something you love about your fashion sense or style?

I love how diverse it can be, one day I might dress a bit more edgy and tough while other days I might wear a pink gingham dress with lacy socks. My wardrobe is one filled with possibility.

7.Why is your body a great place to be?

Because I am constantly practicing self love and care. My body is one of acceptance and improvement. It does what I need it to do, it works perfectly fine, there is nothing wrong with my body. There is nothing wrong with my stretch marks, body hair, boob shape or round tummy. My body is a place of love.

Before I end the tag I thought it would be great to add in a photo of yourself when you felt the most confident. I love this photo of myself, I was on holiday with my parents when I found this vine swing in a bush walk to a secluded beach. I am wearing no makeup, my hair is frizzy from the humidity, I had not shaved in days and I had eaten a burger just before. But I am happy.

swing (2)

MY NOMINEES:

I also want to nominate everyone and I mean it. I would love to read everyone’s blog post for this tag so please make sure you link my account so I can see it.

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy.

Lil Out X

21 thoughts on ““LOVE THE SKIN YOU’RE IN” TAG

  1. I didn’t see you had nominated me but I jumped over to this post because it is such an amazing idea! Thank you so so much for mentioning me. So glad you cut that “friend” out because nobody needs someone bringing them down like that, that’s horrible. Amazing post xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

