BEHIND THE SCENES OF A PHOTOSHOOT

G’day mate,

When I first started blogging I wasn’t very good at photography and I never knew how to use photos to make my blog look more inviting. So today I wanted to share some tips and tricks by taking you behind the scenes of this blog.

Lighting: – I always opt for natural lighting. My favourite time to shoot is in the afternoon between 1 pm and 4 pm. Preferably I aim for 3 pm  since it’s my favourite number. To me everything looks better in the sunlight that shines at 3. I know that sounds weird and I’m aware it’s more of a mental illusion than actual reality.

Natural lighting vs artificial lighting

Camera – I don’t have a big fancy camera, as much as I would love one, I just use my phone and it does the job. Sometimes you have to work with what you’ve got.

img_1877

Product photo backgrounds – As a blogger I’ve become resourceful when it comes to this (or at least I like to think so). A personal favourite setting of mine is flowers over a throw blanket. The trick is to set up the background to look appealing ie the blanket and then place various other random items ie flowers around the outside and set the product in the middle of the photo so it is the focal point.

img_1813

Scouting areas – There is an abundance of beautiful places in Australia, mainly beaches and bush. Lucky for me, my preferred colour palette consists of blues and greens. Forest walks, parks, beaches and graffiti covered alleyways are all great places for a shoot. If you are really stuck for a back drop a simple brick wall is a classic.

swing (2)

Editing – I like to keep it nice and simple which is why I use Instagram to edit my photos. I increase the brightness, contrast, saturation and sharpness and decrease the warmth so it has a tint of blue covering the entire photo.

img_0073

Planning – Don’t leave a photoshoot to last second, all that does in increase stress and decrease the quality of the photo. Trust me, I’ve been there. Mark it in the calendar, make sure you have someone to act as your photographer and ensure all your outfits are prepared and ready.

img_1239

Thank you for reading and I hope this post helped you with your photography.

What camera do you use for your blog photos?

Lil Out X

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “BEHIND THE SCENES OF A PHOTOSHOOT

Leave a Reply

